Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : December 29, 2001 : : : 10:50 AM : : :

Since it's so close to the end of the year, I decided to join the crowd and make a best of list for 2001. Actually, since I own 14 CDs dated 2001, I decided to just rate them in order (no use in rating ones I don't own just to sound cool...because you'd see through that one!). So really, it's not the best of for this year, it's just rating my CDs. Too bad for you.

I pulled out the CDs and listened to them all again. I have been listening to a few a lot, but they were usually the more recent releases. By listening to them all again, they all had a somewhat equal footing. So here it is: Wowee’s Top 14 In Somewhat Particular Order!

14. I Mother Earth - Earth, Sky And Everything In Between
I didn't really want to buy this CD, but I didn't know anyone who would have this one. Released by EMI and not the band, it had a few songs that I didn't have. So I got it, listened to it a few times and put it away. A couple of the "rare" tunes are good, but this one is not really worth buying.

13. Danko Jones - I’m Alive And On Fire
Why is Danko so low on the list? Because I already had most of the songs on here. Just owning "Cadillac" on CD is worth shelling out the cash, though. However, I do prefer the version I have on tape from CMW in 2000.

12. Eric’s Trip - The Eric's Trip Show
What can I say, it's a live album. It's pretty good, but I'll keep on listening to the studio albums I own. This one is a good souvenir of the show I went to.

11. Stephen Malkmus - Stephen Malkmus
A pretty good solo effort by the ex-Pavement lead singer. A quirky album, this is. "The Hook" is funny. "Troubbble" is a lot of fun (toy piano!). Whoa, whoa-oh

10. Cookie Duster - Cookie Duster
This band pretty much features most of the members of the defunct Change of Heart and Brandon Canning of the defunct hHead. It's not your ordinary CoH or hHead, though. The CD starts off quite dancy, but about the halfway mark becomes more experimental, with blips, bleeps and a spoken clip. It has its moments, but fortunately there are more good moments than bad moments. I can do without the first track, but "Keep On," featuring His Mangoness, is so much fun and saucy! The track with Spooky Ruben is quite good as well.

9. New Meanies - Highways
A solid album by New Meanies. Bluesy, rocky, funky and latiny. It's perfect for a day when you are not feeling rambunctious but at the same time don't want a quiet day. I recommend listening to "Moving On" and "I Wanna Play." For the overnight drive, try "Northern Shore (Drowned)."

8. Hawksley Workman - (Last Night We Were) The Delicious Wolves
That voice! Those lyrics! Beautiful. This is sexy music.

7. Rufus Wainwright - Poses
Speaking of beautiful... . I quite enjoy this one. Rufus gets bonus points for writing a song with Propellerhead's Alex Gifford. Yes, "Shadows" is sure funkay! "California" and "Evil Angel" are my favourites. The latter because I really like the eerie strings and vocals. The former (foamer? err, sorry) because it's much fun.

6. Joel Plaskett Emergency - Down At The Khyber
When I first heard that Joel was taking a more country route, I didn't really want to listen to his stuff, not being a great fan of the genre. I'm glad I did get a chance to hear it. This is good stuff. "True Patriot Love," "This Is A Message" and "Maybe We Should Just Go Home": oh my gawd. "Cry Together" reminds me of Wilco. Yeah, this song could fit on one of the Being There CDs.

5. Sloan - Pretty Together
I don't enjoy this album as much as I enjoy Between The Bridges, but it is still alright and has some great moments. The last 35 seconds of "Who You Talkin' To?" is pop bliss. I always turn up the stereo at that part. "Never Seeing The Ground For The Sky" rocks. Unfortunately whenever I listen to it, I picture the Murph rocking out to it, just like he did on Much Music. Him and his 'stache. I will always have a small place in my heart for "Pick It Up And Dial It" (hear it live...it's really good then).

4. Preston School of Industry - Goodbye To The Edge City EP / Falling Away single
I figure sticking these two together makes them equal to one CD (I haven't bought the actual full length yet). I prefer listening to the single over the EP. "Falling Away" is an awesome song, as is the cover of The Clean's "Anything Could Happen." However, the EP does have "How To Impress The Goddess Pt. 2" which is so good. The song has spooky music and backing vocals at the beginning of the song. Also, the song has great lyrics. For example, "water knows its place in the great divide."

3. Flashing Lights - Sweet Release
Oh sweet release! It’s alright my bay-beh. This CD is good times, especially "Same Thing Twice." The members sound like cats in "Keep It To Yourself." Well they do when I'm in the bath and I have my stereo blaring from my bedroom. The last song is a perfect way to end an album. The only reason I don't like this release as much as Where The Change Is is because it doesn't have an "Elevature." Other than that, this album is "Too Delightful."

2. Novillero - The Brindleford Follies
Words to describe this album: poppy, catchy, horns, hip swinging, and harmony. The great thing about this band is that there are many writers so there is a lot of variety in the songs. What I really like is that all the songs tell a little story. The lyrics are good too: I tried to be friendly / I tried to be suave / But you persistently brush me off / What's in your mind? / I've got to get in there. Arg. Just read the review.

1. Spoon - Girls Can Tell
I'm quite sure I have listened to this one the most out of all of these CDs. The last time I listened to it, I didn't really know what it is about this album that has grabbed a hold of me so. I figured it out though. It's lyrics like this: Outside is all lit up with ad lights / In traffic we become on the way back home / Part of something bigger than just on our own. The melody as well. The melody is structured so simply, but it's effective. It makes me want to hear the next note. The piano on "Me And The Bean" (a song originally penned by John Clayton. Who? I don’t know.) is so lovely. "Fitted Shirt" is a fun rocker. Also, I think the fact Britt Daniels doesn't enunciate perfectly make me like the album too.

If I had more spare cash, I would have bought more CDs, but then this list might have been longer. That would make creating the list a bit more difficult. If you think my order is wrong, let me know. But since this is MY diary, most likely I'm right!

=)



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***