Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : 2001-05-13 : : : 3:03 p.m. : : :

NewMusicWest 2001: Evening 2

Friday night we went to the Lowest of the Low show at the Commodore Ballroom. We got there halfway through a band�s set. I didn�t know who it was at first but just before The Waifs began to play the announcer said �Let�s give a hand to Radiogram.� They were pretty good, in a poppy-country sort of way. I don�t really like much music that leans towards country, but I was able to sit through them without making a face.

During their set, we saw a couple members of Hot Little Rocket in the crowd (Hot Young Tractor). Roomie and I both looked at each other then we both scanned the bar for Novillero...specifically trumpet boy. =P

Then Australia�s The Waifs got on stage. They�ve got that sound that says they�re from Australia, but I can�t really explain it. One of the female singers had a really nice voice. Apparently quite a few people at the show knew who they were, and a couple people even requested one of their songs: �Wow, someone actually requested one of our own songs.�

As soon as they ended, roomie and I headed down to the bouncy floor to get a good spot for The Weakerthans. Their set was good, and good time fun! I don�t know many of their songs, but after a few of them, roomie and I would turn to each other and say, �I think they played that on Radiosonic.� There�s one song I like that I really like the video for (the one with an apple, alarm clock and various other objects that appear throughout the video). The best part was when the lead singer let a guy come on stage to play for a bit. He even sang a bit too. Then the lead singer said, �I said you could play, I didn�t say you could sing.� But he did a pretty good job.

For Lowest of the Low, we sat down again at a table with a good view. I have to admit, other than the new single, the only other song of theirs I know is Motel 6. Despite early technical difficulties the bassist was having: "I have all this electrical equipment but I forgot to pay the bills,� the set was really good. I may have to go out and buy an album or two. We didn�t stay for the encore because we were tuckered out and I had a class Saturday morning (whoever thought a mandatory class starting at 8:30 am is a big jerk!).

=)

Day One ::: Day Three



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***