Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : 2001-05-11 : : : 6:34 p.m. : : :

I decided to split up my entry into 2 today, so they wouldn�t get too long. And anyway, this deserves it�s own entry!

NewMusicWest 2001: Evening 1

So roomie and I went to NewMusicWest last night. Good time had by all...well at least the 2 of us. We got there early so...I don�t know why, we just did. Good thing, because we caught the last half of the set by the first band Mico from Calgary. I had never heard of them before but they were pretty good. I bought roomie and myself a couple of Mico pins. Mine is on my �everyday� purse. If you get the chance to see them, I urge you to go.

The next band on stage was also from Calgary. They are called hot little rocket. They�re a little punky. They�re kinda Pavement-y, yet also kinda Doughboys-y. The bassist was going nuts on the little stage a la Bruce Gordon on speed. =) One of the member�s parents came from Bangkok to see him. Aww, how sweet.

The third band there, and the band I wanted to see the most at NMW: Novillero (or as a local newspaper called them: Nolavero). Anyway, they were SO GOOD. I had a chance to see my friend�s article about them just before we left, so I knew their name meant �little matador� or �junior matador.� It�s a good name, but I don�t think the band even knows how to pronounce it�s own name. The guy introduced themselves as �Nah-vee-lero�. Consulting with my roomie who took Spanish in highschool and digging into my European heritage, we�re pretty sure the pronunciation is �No-vee-ye-rrro.� But maybe WE�RE wrong. =P

Anyway, I didn�t really like the girl�s voice. It�s not bad. I mean, when she sang backup it was good. But then they did a cover: My world is empty without you babe. My world is empty without you babe. her voice wasn�t strong enough to do the song justice. But maybe some of that goes to the fact she couldn�t hear herself.

I�ve developed a crush on the trumpet, etc. member! *sigh* He has big fluffy hair and very skinny and had an awesome vintage jacket. I�m such a girl. =P

After No-vee-ye-rrro, was another Winnipeg group, Projektor. I�ve heard plenty of them, but I had never heard anything by them before last night. They were pretty good. However, one of the singers and his dad (?) was blocking my view of the trumpet boy!

The last band was Halifax�s North of America. I told roomie that she would like them because they sound a bit like Pavement. Well after the first song was played I told her, �Well that song didn�t sound like Pavement.� After a few more songs I said, �OK, so they sound like Pavement if Pavement was like a metal/heavy band or something.� We didn�t stay for the whole set because we had the Skytrain to catch. So we left at one.

Right now I�m enjoying my Novillero CD.

Tonight�s agenda: At the legendary Commodore Ballroom. We�ll be seeing the Weakerthans and Lowest of the Low. There are other bands, but I can�t remember which.

Saturday�s agenda: The New Meanies (FINALLY) at Richard�s on Richards. Then back to Ms. T�s (like last night) to see The Salteens, who I really like, and Weights and Measures, a band I�ve never heard anything of but I�ve heard a lot about them on the Indie Rock Army.

So, Rock on!! =P



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***