Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : December 18, 2001 : : : 12:15 PM : : :

Why do Baba's have to die close to Christmas?

My sister phoned me at work to tell me the news. I didn't know who called at first, but she let me know it was her. Then she told me that our grandma died this morning. (Not too sure if she meant our morning, or morning in Europe).

I tried hard not to cry at work, but it's harder when I hear someone cry. After I hung up, I attempted to compose myself so I could keep on working, but then the receptionist asked if I was alright. That broke my concentration. So I said I wanted to take lunch early so I could phone my parents and regroup, but I got sent home.

I love(d) my Baba (don't say 'duh" because I don't like my grandpa). Even though she was so far away, my sister and I were pretty close to her. Whenever my mom phoned home, we always asked her how Baba was. We didn't actually speak to her because grandma didn't have a phone, and the whole language barrier.

Anyway, when the family went to Europe to visit a couple years ago, I spent a lot of time at her house (usually with my mom to help me find the right words). Those were good times, especially when grandpa wasn't there. She was so nice. She never said anything bad about anyone and always offered us food and stuff when we came over. Even when she didn't have a lot to offer. If we said "no" she would always ask "why?" Being dragged to church wasn't so bad, because Baba's house was on the way so we always popped in for a couple minutes either on the way there or the way back. Sometimes both.

I can't remember too much of the trip when we first visited back in 1985. I do remember that she was a fat grandma. Those are the best ones. However, the war and cancer of the bladder turned her into a tiny one. About four or five years ago they cut out a large tumor but they didn't get all of it. She was relieved of the pain from it and the bleeding had stopped for a long time.

Back then she said she would stay alive until she saw us again. I'm glad my mom got to see her one last time.



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***