Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : September 15, 2001 : : : 4:40 PM : : :

Howdy how!!

I wasn�t sure if the Belle & Sebastian show was going to go as scheduled on Thursday since they were scheduled to play Portland, Oregon the night before. With no planes flying, I figured they wouldn�t have made it across the border in time. I called the theatre and the guy on the line assured me that the show was on. Roomie and I decided to get there a bit early so we could get good spots. Fifteen minutes after the doors opened we got there. Holy cow, there were so many people inside already. We sort of slipped our way past people to get to the lower foyer and managed to butt in front of people. No one seemed to notice. We managed to get some good seats near the front.

It felt weird just sitting there. Before the show, it felt like I was there to see a play. When Jonathan Richman was on stage, it felt funny watching him play and they clapping after each song performed. I�m used to going, �Woo!� and having people yelling and screaming around me.

Anyway, Jonathan was really good in concert. His songs were good and told great stories (I�ve only ever heard one of his songs, and it was someone else covering it). He was really funny, but without being over-the-top. I will definitely see him again should he come here another time. Roomie plans on buying a Modern Lovers CD.

When B&S got to the stage, there was a big rush to the front. We decided to move up a few rows and stood amongst the seats because there was no way we would have been able to see anything sitting down. There were a few people further back in the audience telling all of us to sit down. Pfffft, whatever. Sitting down is for OLD people, and I know a lot of bands really don�t like it if the crowd is just sitting. Anyway, their set was fantabulous! I recognized a few songs in my feeble familiarity of their catalogue. The sound quality of the theatre was most excellent, especially near the front. B&S were quite funny too, and I think they were yucking it up a bit more since the show was being recorded by Just Concerts. So someday I will be able to listen to the show again. Maybe someone will be nice and burn it onto CD for me. =)

Oh, and I didn�t bump into that guy. There were too many tattooed boys in glasses around to figure out which one he was. I�ll get him to mail it to the album. I was invited to see them perform at a local cabaret with a couple other bands and arty groups, but I don�t think I�ll go � I have no one to go with. =(

Egad. Just a little while ago I heard that one of racing�s great drivers, Alex Zanardi, got into a terrible, terrible accident. His race car was hit by Alex Tagliani�s car at about 200 miles per hour. Zanardi lost his legs because of the crash.

Tagliani hurt his back, but I bet the guilt is hurting more. I�m glad I didn�t see it, it would have been too sad. Patreeek made it onto the podium, which is good, I guess.

I heard about the accident onto my way to North Van. I was dropping Roomie off at a credit union for her to sign off her duties at her old college�s paper (since she graduated). As a bribe, she offered to buy me lunch. Woo, we went to this really cool pub called Black Bear Neighbourhood Pub. There, after about twenty minutes, I decided to be adventurous and have an ostrich burger. I figured it would taste a bit like chicken, but it seemed to taste more like pork, but without tasting like pork. The decor was really cool. It was all wood, with these cute black bear pictures: playing in fields, trying to squeeze through a fence, and babies. There was also one of two black bears acting amorously.

A little while ago, someone came to this site looking for �boiled wool.� That is definitely the coolest thing someone looked for but ending up at me. The most popular Google search is still for �Walk Like a Camel� lyrics. Little Debbie, little Debbie.

Hmm...I have to think of something to write about for the chronic.

=)



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***