Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : September 10, 2002 : : : 4:33 PM : : :

Well, it's happened again: I've been laid off. According to the controller, I haven't done anything wrong, it's that the company is heading in a new direction and needs someone with four to five years of accounts payable experience. I figure I'm just the next one in line (and I didn't even have the lucky stapler!), and my friend figures that she's next.

Of course when they told me, the shock made me cry. I didn't want to - I didn't feel all that bad – that's just the way my body deals with stress, I guess. People were shocked when I told them - some were even angry. I was touched. My friend and her friend that works in the company next door said they were going to check employment standards and such to see if the company was allowed to fire me for that.

But like I mentioned, I don't feel too bad about it. As much as I liked working with a lot of the people (pretty much everyone except management) and learning new things, I wasn't waking up with joy at the thought of going to work. I'll most likely see "everyone" in a couple of week’s time when we have "Happy Wednesday/Thursday."

So, I have decided to take the rest of the week off. No looking for work. I will shop (I already spent much money at Lush today), sleep and enjoy the good weather we're having, because darn it, I deserve a vacation. Being paid for unused vacation just isn't the same as going on vacation. At least this time I'm financially secure enough that I can take the time off and even take time looking for a job I want instead of desperately trying to find a way to pay for rent.

----------

OK, Time for frivolous uplifting stuff!!

On Saturday, Roomie and I went to join in the festivities of CBC Television's fiftieth anniversary. There was music galore (though unfortunately I missed John Mann), and even the Royal Canadian Air Farce doing some stand up. We got our pictures taken with cardboard cutouts of Ron MacLean and Don Cherry, and Roomie with Noddy who gave her a kiss and then got all bashful (Noddy, not Roomie).

And I touched the tickle trunk! The. Tickle. Trunk. I seriously believe that was the thing everyone came to see.

Yesterday and the night before I put together my new computer desk. I think that will be the last time I buy anything that big from Ikea. It was almost impossible to put together. The instructions had pictures but no words, and with many piece similar in size...well that made it tricky. I had to count holes to make sure I had the right part. However, it's done and it looks pretty good. (Why does Ikea only offer wood in birch and beech? My bedroom furniture is not remotely close to either colour. Anyway). I just have to put the computer on it, and whatever else I decide to stick there. Later on I'm going to redecorate my room, but I'm not sure how yet. Now I have the time to think about it.

=)



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***