Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : November 13, 2001 : : : 6:10 PM : : :

Hello. I went home this weekend so that's why this entry has been delayed. I wrote it out on the ferry and at home. I wasn't too sure about putting it here because after I finished, I noticed how long it actually got. However, one or two people are sitting at the edge of their seats waiting for this. Hopefully it doesn't disappoint. But it's really, really long. You have been warned.

**Written Nov. 10/01**

It's 8:25 am, and the ferry will be moving in ten to fifteen minutes. I was too tired to write an entry right after the show, so I just wrote down some quick notes to remind me what happened (however, this guy did get a tiny debriefing). Man I think this is the only time I wanted to be on the Fast Cat: there are so many tables that I was guaranteed of one. Now without a further ado, on with the report.

I didn't think I would get to the venue as quickly through rush hour as I did, so I ended up getting there about 5:10. I figured I would have been the big dork and be the first in line waiting by myself, but there was already about ten people in line. Just after me came this chick, so I figured I'd talk to her so I wouldn't get bored waiting for K. Big mistake. She talked and talked and talked and talked. She mainly talked about how Sloan was her new fave band, and how her other faves are OLP, Tea Party, Metallica, RHCP and Aerosmith. Arg. Actually I shouldn't have written that bit...I shouldn't judge people based on their musical tastes. And I used to listen to a lot of that stuff, too...but back in junior high. Oh, she also kept squealing (honest to goodness) about how cute Chris is...and basically freaking out about meeting him before the show. Again I shouldn't have written that...I used to be like that too. Actually that part didn't bother me (except for the squealing: she's older than me).

K finally showed up at six. She was hopint to arrive earlier, and as time went on that night, so did I. Unfortunately her friend who is a HUGE Flashing Lights fan couldn't make it because she was way too sick.

The tickets said "no cameras or recorders" but the security wasn't really doing that good a job of it. However, the moshpit being too rough, I didn't take many pictures. That, and K forgot to bring an extra roll of film for me: "Kodak 800...only the best." Dammit, the guys to the left of me were pushing and shoving each other to get a good spot in front...even before the FL's came on. At that point I was thinking if the guy next to me (who wasn't pushing) ended up hitting my flu-shot shoulder, I was going to go insane on the frat boy with the 'fro who was doing most of the pushing.

Anyway, on with the show. The FL's were awesome! (Everytime I have seen them, they have been so good) Gaven with his tamb-mojo action, Matt with his flying off the drum kit, Henri just being his cutie self playing the bass, and Steve rockin' out on the drums. K and I were hoping there would be some crowd singalong since there wasn't any the last time, and the guys didn't fail us: full audience participation (by those of us who knew) during Same Thing Twice and Elevature. Oh my goodness, both times Matt jumped off, the cymbals would fall. The last time it fell (during Elevature), Gaven decided not to put it back where it belonged, but picked it up and started wailing on it with his tambourine! So gosh-darn awesome!!

One of the tambourines was busted (surprise surprise), so Gaven broke it to pieces and thew them down into the security pit near my feet. After the set, I frantically tried to get the big piece. I even tried to look semi-pathetic thinking that if it worked for Roomie at B&S, it could work for me. However, the ICM security guy was being a real prick about it (as most - but not all - ICM security guys are). Even when people around me were telling him to give it to me, he just gave me five to my outstretched hand. Gerk. After teasing a bunch of us for at least fifteen minutes, he gave it to Guy-who-is-waaaay-too-tall-to-be-front-row, because he was yelling, "Flashing Lights, oh yeah" in that testosterone way (you know what I'm talking about). However, the guy did seem like a fan, so I guess that wasn't too bad. And some awesome chick gave me her small piece, which was so great of her.

Finally Sloan came on. They opened with "If It Feels Good Do It" and the crowd right behind us went *insane*. That, sadly, made picture taking way too difficult. I hope the couple I took turned out. Anyway, they pretty much played what they have been playing throughout the tour, so I'll spare the setlist. They didn't play "Pretty Together." Someday, someday I'll get a chance to hear that song.

Oh yeah, Chris had a big grin when he noticed me & K in the front. Yep, our usual spot. I smiled back and gave him a really cheesy point. I can't believe I did that.

**Time now: 9:45. Ooh, people getting into a little tiff about whose table is whose. Sorry dude, you & your wife left the table, so it's open season. Hee hee, table rage. **

Anyway, some highlights:

1. The return of the VAGINA shirt. How have I been so blessed as to see it twice? I wanted to take a picture, but the lighting wasn't that great and the letters were quite faded this time. OK so I'm not blessed: I have no pictures of said shirt. HOWEVER, the angled lighting showed the protrusion of his nipples through the shirt (leslie: *swoon*).

2. A guy brought his trumpet to the show. He held it up during "Everything You've Done Wrong" and Chris noticed it. The guy got up to the stage to play. He wasn't that good, but was fun to watch. Patrick: "That was cool." Chris: "Nobody better get any ideas."

3. The spin-the-bottle video in the background - NOT from "Underwhelmed." Matt Murphy, that casanova! Hee hee, and was that the other man, er the other Murph in the video too? K and I were gutting ourselves. Because of that, we couldn't pay much attention to "In Your Eyes."

4. Patrick playing the keyboards during "Are You Giving Me Back My Love." Actually he wasn't playing much. But when he wasn't he would wag his head back and forth in the "doo dee doo, I have nothing to do" way. So adorable.

5. Chris brought a girl up on stage. She put on the bass and started jumping around. That was SO entertaining to watch. Chris passed her the mike but she forgot the words. Far more entertaining than I was back in '97, but at least I didn't forget. =P I should have taken a picture to give to her, but I figured her friend would have - but she didn't. Darn.

6. The super jam Sloan and the FL's did. I wish I knew what the song was. It sounded country-ish but it was really good. Matt and Andrew were singing.

The big highlight right-after the show: K: "Doot doola doot do." Nardwuar: "Doot doot."

I didn't buy a shirt because they were $30. I was hoping they would be cheaper since the tickets were kinda expensive. And how come the best shirt came only in XS? Goddamn baby t's.

**Ow, ow, hands starting to cramp up. I'll have to continue the after-show hijinks (or lowjinks) next time.**



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***