Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : March 20, 2002 : : : 5:23 PM : : :

Mother Nature did not heed my decree, so it was damn cold and snowed again. And overnight it cleared up to turn the snow into ice. I nearly had a repeat in my car not wanting to let me in, but I managed to force open the passenger side door. I was late for work.

In the parking lot, my car decided it wanted to do its own thing and go sideways a little bit (it was extremely icy outside). I nearly side-swiped a co-worker's minivan. After I got out of my car, I walked along at a snail's pace. A co-worker (not the minivan owner) waited for me halfway up the parking lot to make sure I was ok. Me and ice are not the best of friend.

The HR woman came downstairs and said I was driving crazy - really fast. Whatever. I was maybe doing 20 at the most. But I talked to a couple others and their vehicles nearly hit other vehicles too, so whatever.

I became pretty angry at one of my co-workers at lunch. At lunch I bought a new Jones juice flavour: D'Peach Mode. I found it so great that I was showing everyone my bottle. Remember the guy who couldn't understand why I was watching the ECMAs at the same time as the Super Bowl? Well, he asked me if I was a big fan of Depeche Mode in the 80s. I said that no I was too young to be a fan (hey, I was a little kid. I mainly listened to the local AM radio station and my tapes: Tiffany, Debbie Gibson and Michael Jackson). But I made a mental note to myself: to not say I was too young for anything, because everyone in the room, who were quite a bit older, groaned. ANYWAY, that guy then made the comment that I probably didn't know who the Beatles were. Guh? Just because I didn't listen to Depeche Mode in the 80s? Actually I only found that comment mildly annoying.

However, later on during lunch, we were all discussing various movies. We got onto the topic of Eddie Murphy movies and my friend said that her favourite Eddie movie was "Coming to America." That guy said he couldn't get into that movie because "it was too black." I let that comment slide. I don't know why, but I did.

A few minutes later he said he hated "Roots" because it was too black. I gasped because I really loved it. He then said that it was just about how the white guys treated blacks really badly, in which I interjected, "because it's true." As if I hadn't said anything, he continued, "and the blacks have taken over."

My buddy at work (who's Scottish) perfectly half-mocked, "Just like the English did to the Scots" to that guy (who's English).

A few of us were a bit angry at what he said. One of the people at the table said that she would like to see him down south (she meant Central America). She figures that he wouldn't make it very long in Belize, where she had lived for a few years.

I think the next time he makes a comment like that, instead of keeping anything to myself, I'm going to tell him that I don't like hearing comments like that. In addition to those comments, he makes sexist comments too. Like having all the first-aid kits at the ready because the cycle counts have begun and all the girls are going to complain about broken nails. I may complain about getting dirty, but I think nothing about broken nails...unless my finger starts bleeding and it's stinging like a mofo. Then I stick it in my mouth until it stops hurting.

Another time he had a dirty plate and offered it to me to wash. I gave him a rather dirty look.

----------

Big *mwah* to bayliss and bornonatrain.

----------

I got a cover tunes mix tape in the mail today. I will be sending mine out this weekend. Last night I picked up my parcel. It was this. The. Most. Expensive. Mug. I. Own. Damn impulse buying! *shakes fist* But I like it. =)

----------

So Sloan are a-comin' here in May. They'll be playing in a kick off to NewMusicWest. Yay, them and a bunch of bands I don't care for. But the ticket price includes a wristband for the festival, which is great. And I just found out that SFA are here on May 11...that's during NMW. If they are part of the festivities (venue is TBA, so maybe)....sweet!

=)



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***