Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : September 26, 2002 : : : 4:28 PM : : :

"....So our bus was stopped at the border. They found out our driver was a felon so our bus was searched. We all squeezed into a cab and only got here five minutes ago. Now our seven pounds of weed is in the States. Come on Vancouver."

-lead singer of The Liars

My left ear is still ringing a bit, but I can only notice it when there isn't any other noise. A couple of hours before the show I reminded myself that I needed to bring my earplugs, but I still managed to forget between that time and the time I left. From now on, I'll just keep a pair in my purse.

Anyway, last night's JSBX show was awesome. All three bands were rock solid. First up were The Liars, and I think they are my new favourite band (for a while at least). They're sort of an arty punk/garage band, but that's not quite right. Hmm. The band was quite entertaining especially when the bassist was doing a souped-up Running Man while playing his sampler thingamajig (and it was a sampler thingamajig). The guitarist sort of looks like Graham Coxon, so we figured that's where he ran off to after leaving Blur - to join the type of band he always wanted to. =P

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs were pretty good too. They were lively and most of the crowd was really into their set. The singer is pretty cool - she has style.

What I used to notice is that there isn't as much moshing at a licenced show. However, that was not the case during JSBX's set. Halfway through I really wanted to kick the arses of about thirty over-testosteroned guys and one flaky girl, but I didn't and tried to pay attention to the show. My friend had to leave because she said she was getting too old for all these bodies around her and all the moshing, so I was by myself.

The effort was worth it as I think this was the best JSBX set I have seen. There were hardly any breaks, no major technical difficulties, and the playing was solid. They played songs mostly off the newest album, but they went as far back as Extra Width, which made me quite happy. Because of all the moshing, I ended up by Judah, and somehow I managed to keep my drooling to a minimum. =P

I caught up to my friend after the show because she needed to get her coat. She mentioned that Jon Spencer was starting to look similar to the lead singer of Big Sugar, which I thought was quite funny because I was thinking the same thing. However, she added that she preferred Jon with a cropped look, while in the crowd I was thinking, "if Gordie Johnson made his hair go like that, he'd look a lot better."

All in all, we both enjoyed the show a lot. I even bought myself another JSBX shirt as did my friend whose shirt I like much better, but as she called which shirt she wanted first, I got a different one. Anyway, we already have the same JSBX shirt from the first time we saw them.

Hopefully my ear will stop ringing before Danko on Saturday.

=)



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***