Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : 2001-05-03 : : : 9:14 p.m. : : :

You gave me all your love in one day.

So yesterday was Rufus day. The show was grand. I got to the bar about 10 minutes before Tegan and Sara were to go on. I managed to bump into my friend Kristy, so we hung out at the show together.

If anyone is planning to see Rufus on this tour, make sure to check the girls out. They're music is really intense. And their between-song banter last night was hilarious. Sara told this story about how their mom is finding religion and that she's talking less to them and more to God. Sara then exclaimed, "Jesus!" Right after that, Tegan had monitor problems. Hee hee, divine intervention. I only knew the single, "The First," which they played last. Oh by the way, they're both tiny and cute!

After a long wait and the sound tech guy checking all the instruments over and over and over again, Rufus and crew came on stage. He was accompanied by the ever lovely Martha and a whole band. I didn't think that many people could fit on a small stage, but they did. On the drums was Butch, from the Eels.

Rufus was being Rufus throughout the whole show. =)

I'm so excited about June 5th, when his new album Poses comes out. I really enjoyed all the new songs that he played. Here are the songs performed as copied from the setlist (if you don't want to see because you like to be surprised at shows, skip ahead). The new songs are in italics:

Cigarettes and Chocolate Milk
Greek Song
Rebel Prince
Shadows
Foolish Love
Tower of Love
Grey Gardens

Sally Ann
Beauty Mark
In a Graveyard
California
Comfort (not totally sure about this title)
Evil Angel
One Man Guy (one of Louden Wainwright III's songs)
Poses

Encore:
Danny Boy
Imaginary Love
In My Arms

A nice mix of old songs and new songs. Shadows is a really funky tune. I think this is the one Rufus did with the guy from Propellerheads. Of course in performance it was more organic. There was even a goth part to the show. Rufus said that he should have been dressed like Stevie Nicks. Oh well, he was quite well dressed anyway. In One Man Guy, Rufus had his pal Teddy sing a part of it. He had a really nice voice.

Overall a great show! I give Rufus & Co's performance 2 thumbs aloft. The bar gets a thumbs down for being way too hot. I did bring a camera along, but I haven't developed the pics yet, so I don't know how they turned out.

Now not related to Rufus, I haven't been oddgoogled but I have been regular googled. Someone looking for info on Grant Lawrence checked out this diary. Hee hee

Anyway, now to prepare myself for NewMusicWest. =)



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***