Can I have an autograph?
powered by Sexay Rawk


newest

older

contact me

my profile

notes

diaryland

ng.com
Get the latest release! email:

notifylist.com

: : : View My Slambook!: : :
: : :Sign My Slambook!: : :


: : : November 05, 2001 : : : 6:14 PM : : :

I'm listening to The Eric's Trip Show right this very moment. It's a good CD, but last night's show sounded a lot better!

I met Roomie at Denny's for dinner just before the show and we got to the venue about twenty minutes after the doors opened. We were a little confused as to why we were going into a different door than usual, but I just found out it was because there was a small fire at the club the night before, so we couldn't go through the lobby. We figured there would have been quite a few people already. There were some, but not many so we got some good seats up in the balcony...but not our usual spot. We decided for a change of view.

I Kill My Conscience At Times opened the show. The guy in the duo and I have been emailing since just before the first time Eric’s Trip was supposed to play here. Their set was pretty cool: arty. A couple of the songs were pretty scary. One had a distorted kitty sound with the lyrics: "The Church of Jesus Christ leads to Hell" or something quite close to that. There wasn’t that much stage presence (especially his wife), but it sounded pretty good. I met the guy after their set and talked for a few seconds. He said we could chat after the show. I was too busy with the merch at the end, so that didn't happen.

Hot Little Rocket: man they're fun. I think the lead singer has Elvisitis (but not to the degree of Jon Spencer). Once in a while he would do a little leg shake or a hip shake. Roomie said she preferred their set at NMW, but truthfully, I can't remember too much about that one. I only remembered that I liked them. Hee hee, before their set, Roomie was trying to remember which one was "Hot Young Tractor" and she was getting them confused with North Of America’s set. Then when I was trying to explain to her which one they were, she managed to get me to confuse myself. Arg.

Finally Eric's Trip came on. They were really, really good. After about three or four songs I thought, "Hey I know all these songs." Then I replied-thought, "Well duh, you do own a few albums." But owning only three albums, I didn't know they had a song called, "Sloan Song." Ack! I learned that when I was playing with the CD. They did play it last night, but it sounded like "Slow Song." THAT'S why I don't like wearing earplugs. Actually, that’s only the second time I've ever worn those.

Ooh ooh, here's something cool: Songs I own that mention Sloan:

Eric's Trip - "Sloan Song" And that Sloan song is spinning through my head

Cinnamon - "I'll Never Know" Take It In's a song by Slow-own / Tripped up she dropped out of my schoo-ool

Change of Heart - "Halifax Facial" Can no one see? / The last Sloan record blahblahblah (I can never make out that last part)

The Revolutionary Hydra - "Everything Sounds So New" Everything sounds like Sloan / Everything sounds just like Eric's Trip / Everything sound so Halifax / It's all-Canadian (this band's from the States)

*Ahem* I think I need to cut down on the sloanage here. Anyway, back to the show. I bought myself the CD last night. Fifteen bucks, woo hoo. Roomie got herself a t-shirt. She thanked me for buying the ticket for her b-day present and said that she really enjoyed the show. I'm glad. And I think that makes up for when I dragged her along to see "Rat Race" with me. In hindsight, that was a real crummy thing to do.

=)



: : : Before Na No Da: : : ::: : : :After Na No Da: : :

: : :Newest: : :Older: : :Contact: : :Profile: : :D-land: : :
: : :The Rockin� Kids: : :Rings: : :Notes: : :

The Pentland Honeys Webring
This Pentland Honeys Site belongs to Wowee
: : :Join: : :Members: : :


*** sloan love ***